The CSR Advisory Council (CSRAC) was established in 2011 to provide advice to the Director of the Center for Scientific Review on matters related to planning, execution, conduct, support, review, evaluation, and receipt and referral of grant applications at CSR (CSRAC charter).


Dr. Noni Byrnes
Noni Byrnes, Ph.D.

Ex-Officio and Chairperson
Director • Center for Scientific Review

Dr. Bruce Reed
Bruce Reed, Ph.D.

Executive Secretary
Deputy Director • Center for Scientific Review

Dr. Anton Bennett
Anton Bennett, Ph.D.

9/2022 to 12/2025
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Comparative Medicine • School of Medicine • Yale University

Leopoldo J. Cabassa, MSW, PhD.

1/2022 to 12/2025
Professor, Director of the PhD Social Work Program • Co-Director of the Center for Mental Health Services Research, Brown School of Social Work • Washington University in St. Louis

Matthew Carpenter, Ph.D.

1/2022 to 12/2024
Professor • Medical University of South Carolina

Christine P. Hendon, Ph.D.

1/2022 to 12/2025
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering • Columbia University

Dr. Michelle C. Janelsins-Benton
Michelle C. Janelsins-Benton, Ph.D.

9/2021 to 12/2024
Associate Professor, Division of Supportive Care in Cancer, Department of Surgery • University of Rochester

Dr. Narasimhan Rajaram
Narasimhan Rajaram, Ph.D.

9/2021 to 12/2024
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering • University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Elizabeth Villa, Ph.D.

9/2019 to 12/2023
Associate Professor, Division of Biological Sciences • University of California, San Diego

Ad-hoc, non-voting participants in the September 19, 2022 meeting

Dr. Jonathan Epstein
Jonathan Epstein, M.D.

Ad-Hoc for September 19, 2022
Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology • Perelman School of Medicine • School of Medicine • University of Pennsylvania